

President, 2018 – 2020 Chief Rob Burdess Newton Police Department

Secretary, 2019- 2021 Chief Pete Roth Clear Lake Police Department

Past President Chief Jeremy Logan Oelwein Police Department Vice-President, 2018 - 2020 Chief Dennis Reilly Grinnell Police Department

Treasurer, 2019-2021 Trace Kendig Iowa DNR

Executive Director Chief Sam Hargadine (retired)



WWW.lowaNebraskaNAACP.org

Contact: Betty C. Andrews, President IowaNebraskaNAACP@GMail.com 515.729.2969 | IowaNebraskaNAACP.org

Joint Media Release

IOWA POLICE CHIEFS ASSOCIATION & IOWA-NEBRASKA NAACP ANNOUNCE STATEWIDE LAW ENFORCEMENT EQUITY TASK FORCE

Iowa City, Iowa...On May 25, 2020, we watched in horror as George Floyd tragically lost his life while in the custody of Minneapolis police officers. The callousness and disregard shown for Mr. Floyd is sickening and leaves everyone, including police officers across this nation, shocked, appalled, and infuriated. The tactics demonstrated by this officer were reprehensible. The Iowa Police Chiefs Association joins our nation in condemning the actions of these officers.

Since the death of Mr. Floyd, law enforcement has observed many protests, both non-violent and violent, and we have witnessed regrettable confrontations between citizens and law enforcement officers. The Iowa Police Chiefs Association strongly supports freedom of speech and the right to peacefully protest. Although difficult to recognize right now, Iowa policing has made significant advancements in recent years. Police leaders across our nation have acknowledged the misdeeds of the past and have sought out community partners to build a better future.

The Iowa Police Chiefs Association is renewing those efforts by forming a Law Enforcement Vision for Equality Task Force. IPCA President Rob Burdess, Newton Police Chief, and the Iowa-Nebraska NAACP State Area Conference of Branches President Betty C. Andrews are announcing the formation of this task force to create a common ground to develop proposals for necessary change, as well as to provide a communication mechanism to improve relations between law enforcement and all community members equally. The purpose of this task force is to allow for open communication between various groups about concerns or recommendations related to improving law enforcement procedures and relations with diverse stakeholders. This open exchange will allow for all parties to have their voice heard with an open mind towards understanding what is currently happening in our communities, why it is happening, and what we can collaboratively do to improve on it. This effort will allow the various groups to get familiar with each other and to develop trusting relationships that will allow for an open exchange of ideas.

"Despite the advances that Iowa law enforcement has made in recent years, there is clearly more work ahead. Iowa's police executives, and the officers they lead, must embrace the concerns and criticism being voiced and re-examine their policies and approach" states President Burdess. "At the same time, while policing is the focus, community members and elected officials must realize they play a crucial role in moving constructive efforts forward."

"It is undeniable that now is the time for improving law enforcement and community relationships. Those relationships are authenticated by transparent practices and engaged citizens." Said Betty C. Andrews, President of the Iowa Nebraska NAACP. "Through establishing this statewide Law Enforcement Equity Task Force, the Iowa Police Chiefs Association is poised to ensure unbiased policing in our state. This includes building on recent improvements and also addressing racial profiling, hiring practices, citizens review boards, officers living in the communities they police, and a number of other challenging topics" She said.

Past IPCA President, Chief Jeremy Logan, Oelwein Police Department, and Iowa City NAACP President Kevin Sanders will chair the task force of stakeholders.

Members of the Law Enforcement Vision for Equality Task Force are:

Kevin Sanders	President, Iowa City NAACP, Co-Chair, State Criminal Justice Committee
Chief Jeremy Logan	Oelwein Police Department
Chief Tim Carmody	Council Bluffs Police Chief-ILEA Council Member
Chief Rex Mueller	Sioux City Police Department
Chief Daniel Banks	Hudson Police Department
Sheriff Lonnie Pulkrabek	Johnson County Sheriff
Sheriff Tony Thompson	Black Hawk County Sheriff
Sheriff Jason Sandholt	Marion County Sheriff
Comm. Stephen Bayens	Iowa Department of Public Safety Commissioner
Lt. Ryan Doty	Des Moines Police Department
Brian Guy	Retired Clinton Police Department Chief – Form Chair of the ILEA Council
Joe Gonzalez	Retired Des Moines Police Department Lieutenant
Ike Rayford	President, Sioux City NAACP
Monique Scarlett	Unity in the Community Founder

About the NAACP

Founded in 1909, the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) is the nation's oldest and largest civil rights organization. Its half-million adult and youth members throughout the United States and the world are the premier advocates for civil rights in their communities and monitor equal opportunity in the public and private sectors. The Iowa-Nebraska NAACP State Conference of Branches was founded in 1939.

###